You’ve just created a module. Now it’s time to decide who can access it. Permissions only grant or restrict access. To make a module required, you will need to create an Enrollment via the enrollments tab.
Permissions are handled via Admin Tools --> Modules --> Modules Pill --> Your Module --> Module Permissions panel. To be clear—permissions do not make modules required.
To start, expand the Module Permissions panel, and click on the plus sign to define the audience for your module. This will take you to the Rules Engine, where you can get extremely precise about who can access and view content.
Things to Note
Module-level permissions apply to the module as a whole, while media-level permissions apply to the specific media you place within the module. It’s important to set up permissions so that the right people have access to both the module itself and the media within.
For example, if your module was permissioned to a learner with Title = Server and you had permissions on all the media that said Title = Dishwasher, the dishwashers would be unable to access the media within, because they can’t access the module itself. Similarly, the Server could access the module itself, but none of the media within.
Lastly, remember that the default state is un-restricted (all learners have access) for both module-level and media-level permissions.
Permissioning Individual Components Within a Module.
Two text blocks. Both are visible to anyone who accesses this module:
Click on the text block (or other component) that you with to restrict the permissions on:
Use the Rules Engine to create your desired permissions:
Note the Eye Icon, which indicates that this component is permissioned content:
If you click on the permissioned content, you will see a brief summary of who has access:
A ghost permission can happen when a Module is duplication and you may see a grayed out permission in the Module Permissions section.
You look in the Rules to remove it but there are not Permissions set.
Do the following to remove the "ghost permission".
- Go to the Module Permissions
- Add a new Individual User Rule
- You can add yourself in the Rule
- Save changes
- After the changes are saved delete the Rule you just created
- Save the changes
- Go back to the Module
- Verify the grayed out icon has been removed
Note: Permissions don’t apply to the super admin (i.e. you’re special!) Be sure to view the module from different learner perspectives, through test accounts — especially when you’re using media permissions